Women who triumphed against the odds shine at Shine Awards night

The winners of the Shine Awards were announced last evening at the Jumeirah Carlton Hotel, Central London highlighting the achievements of outstanding women working in the hospitality, leisure, travel and tourism sector. The event, first held in 2004, was attended by some of the most senior representatives of the British travel and tourism industry. The key note address was delivered by the past Shine Awards’ Winner, Sandie Dawe, now the CEO of VisitBritain. Also in attendance was Rt Hon Margaret Hodge MBE MP, Minister for Culture and Tourism.

The accomplishments of eleven exceptional women, who demonstrated extraordinary contribution to the industry, commitment to their businesses and to their members of staff were celebrated. People 1st, the sector skills council for hospitality, leisure, travel and tourism was this year’s headline sponsor of the accolade.

Gaby Marcon, the awards’ co-founder stated that “Last night’s winners are nothing short of exceptional. These women have often triumphed against the odds, working tirelessly to achieve their goals and all along acted as great role models and mentors both within the organisations they work for and to the communities in which they operate in. We are all truly inspired!”

“These women provide inspirational role models for all the professionals in our sector, that’s both women and men”, said Brian Wisdom, host for the evening and CEO of People 1st. “Our research found that whilst over 60% of the workforce is made up of women, only 6% of board director positions within the industry are filled by women. As one of the country’s most dynamic industries, we all have a duty to change that disparity. Our winners are testament to the remarkable contribution women make to their businesses and to the sector. They will also encourage more women from diverse backgrounds to consider travel, tourism and hospitality as a long term, fulfilling career option.”

The Shine Awards 2010 Winners:

Corporate Category

Teresa Wong

Executive Assistant Manager, Swissotel, The Howard, London

Entrepreneur Category

Wendy Bartlett

Managing Director, Bartlett Mitchell Catering

Young entrepreneur

Katie Thompson

Owner, Heritage Market

Homeworker Microbusiness

Debbie Dale

Director, Debbie Dale Development


Alison Cryer

Managing Director, Representation Plus

Special price of the jury for all-round achievement

Rita Beckwith

Managing Director, City Cruises

Outstanding Mentor

Susan Briggs

Director, The Tourism Network

Public Sector

Eryl Parry

Director of Enterprise, Liverpool Cathedral

Sustainable Tourism

Jane Ashton

Group Head of Sustainable Development, TUI Travel plc

Also, Highly Commended

Mary Mulvey

Chief Executive Officer, Greenbox

Victoria Fellowes

Marketing Manager, WWT Martin Mere Wetland Centre

Technology Innovator

Diane Webster

Head of Sales Marketing, Beacon Purchasing

Young Achiever

Tara Farnham

Assistant to Chief Operating Officer, Thistle Hotels

Leave a Reply